Chapter 2: Cutting

Eyes wide, I turn to my roommate, bringing my hand up to cover my mouth. Simultaneously, she tries to stifle her laugh. On the theater screen, the new Avatar movie starts playing dubbed in Thai but the catch is…. There are no subtitles. We spent the next three hours immersed in Thai, trying to understand what was being said. 

My roommate and I had the chance to stay with the girls over the weekend. Packing it full of fun things, we went to the movies, beach, breakfast runs and church together. It was such a cool experience getting to spending time with the girls in a different context. Instead of teacher mode, I got to be in a more relaxed, in hanging out mode which deepened my relationships 

By learning haircutting, my girls are expanding their skill set! So far, they have learned 4 different cuts, each more complicated than the last. This has created some interesting styles on their manikins to say the least. In the face of frustration, I have noticed some positive attributes about each of my students. (Due to privacy and safety reasons, I am unable to use their real names so from now on I’ll refer to them as, M, N, P.) 

M is a natural, she catches on quickly and cuts without hesitation. N is also confident with each cut she makes as well as takes her time to double check her work. Lastly, P understands the concept of the cut quickly and is very detail oriented. Even with this mix of personalities and work ethics, which has created a cool environment to encourage one another in learning and executing well, all the haircuts are definitely not perfect in their execution. So I have been encouraging them to not get discouraged and to continue practicing even when the haircut turns out super uneven or choppy. 

Now SUPER EXCITING NEWS! Three of our students have taken the first step in accepting Christ! I am so thankful to be a small part of their new journey. They are having daily discipleship and I can see small changes happening. God is so good and I can’t wait to see how He moves in their lives! 

One thought on “Chapter 2: Cutting

Leave a comment